My Shopping Bag   Item (0)


Year: 2018




ISBN: 9789386262868(HB)

Price: $72

Add to cart

ISBN: 9789386262875(PB)

Price: $32

Add to cart

About the Book

The focus of this book is to describe all major political developments of India of the last seventy years and the narrative of politics has been around Prime Ministers beginning with Jawaharlal Nehru [1947-1964] to Narendra Modi [2014-]. The specificity of this volume is to understand politics by keeping in sharp focus “continuities and changes” during seventy years of Independent India. Explanations have been attempted to understand special developments in Indian politics like globalization, Hindutva and coalition governments.

About Author

C P Bhambhri, currently ‘Distinguished Scholar’ of Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, has been Professor and Dean of the School of Social Sciences. He also has been a Visiting Professor to McGill University, Canada and Dar-Es-Salaam University, Tanzania. He is a prolific writer who has published in international and national academic professional Journals and has also intervened through newspapers articles. He has to his credit more than thirty books.



Preface Acknowledgements PART I 1. Jawaharlal Nehru: The Foundational Phase 2. Indira Gandhi: The Consolidational Phase 3. Congress: Rajiv Gandhi 4. V.P. Singh: Messiah of Mandal Politics 5. P.V. Narasimha Rao 6. Atal Bihari Vajpayee 7. The United Progressive Alliance Government: 2004-2009 8. Congress Coalition and Government: 2009-2014 9. Anna Hazare’s Movement 10. Modi Government PART II 11. Explaining Indian State: 1947-2017 12. Imperialism-led Globalization 13. Explaining Coalition Politics 14. Explaining Bharatiya Janata Party and Hindutva Index 

Additional Info.

Subcribe for our mailing list